Overcoming Personal Barriers to Business Success

Overcoming personal barriers as a businesswoman can feel like a lonely place to be!  I’m Merlene Carrington, a Life Coach with over 10 years experience in the public and private sectors.

My own journey into business began with a desire to do more personal work with people.  But having accepted that I wanted to change my career direction, I felt I had to prove to myself that I could actually do it.  Would anyone want to buy this service from me? And there it was … the first of my barriers – self-doubt!  Overcoming it involved practical steps.  I wrote, delivered and made all of the arrangements to run my first seminar open to the public.  I booked a hotel in West London and ran two sessions:  a morning and an afternoon.  The feedback I received was overwhelmingly positive and it boosted my confidence.  So, my business in Personal Development was born.

Over the years I have encountered many other barriers which I have overcome with the help of others.  Mentors are a great thing to have, especially when you have chosen them carefully and you trust them.  I would not have been able to do the work I have had the pleasure of doing without great support from my mentors.

Finding the courage to step out in business has to be backed up with a vision of what you want to achieve.  Visualise what you want and find a way to make your ways towards it.

Other people will always have an opinion about your dreams and goals.  Someone recently told me it’s time to “streamline”.  If someone is not helping you to achieve your goals, then perhaps they are hindering you.  Ask yourself do you need their permission to pursue your dream?

Most of us have a fear of failure or a fear of success.  One of the most effective ways of dealing with this particular fear is to imagine the worst case scenario, and put a plan in place to deal with it.  It is wise to accept that any business or enterprise you are involved in, has a level of risk involved.

What if you feel that your personal circumstances are not quite right for starting a business or enterprise?  As women, we like to take on a vast amount.  You will need to review your circumstances.  It may be that in making a plan, you may need to delay starting the business.  You’ll be glad you did – timing is very important.

Decide that you are going to be determined and persistent.  There will be mountain top and valley experiences in all of this, and it is important that you decide from the beginning how you are going to respond.  Consider exploring what happens to help you to fall down.

Business help and advice is great! And there is plenty of it available.  However, I think you’ll agree that we also need to be equipped with personal qualities to succeed in business.  Remember, what we call it matters.  I’ve said barriers, but if we say challenges, perhaps our minds will be more ready to overcome them!

Leave a Reply

